Sunday Blessings to You!

“When a man’s ways please the LORD, He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.” -Proverbs 16:7

Many of us who live by our values or morals, at some point in our lives will need to take a stand. It’s frightening, and sometimes out of the norm, to speak up, voice trembling, “I do not believe this is the way to go. I do not believe this is the way to act or speak.  I’m sorry, but I can’t go along with this or follow you.” And by your statement, and even more courageously, your actions, you become the call in the wilderness.

People don’t like it. People don’t like to rock the boat. It’s easier for them to go along with the crowd, that status quo, even if the price to pay is a hollowness in their stomach for not acting according to what they really think. Family, jobs, friendships are at stake.

I understand.

I have many enemies. Is it because I’m a bad person? No, I don’t believe so. I just say my truth even when people don’t want to hear it. I try hard not to be judgemental; but only to say and own my belief system.

There are many reasons to have enemies. One surest way, is to take a stand and hold firm. But I’d rather have an enemy, than be divided from myself (ie., my soul).

And to me- “THEY” may perceive me as their enemy. I perceive them as adversarial in that if they could harm me, they would. But other than my initial anger and self-protection, I find Life has a way of dealing with the angst of sometimes being hated.

I finally get to the point where I just don’t care anymore. I say the prayer, “Dear Lord, please help them find a way to come back to themselves and back to You.”

…and then?

Freedom.