<No words, just sweetness from a stranger at a dark time…

Claire Bear Blues

I went to visit Claire today when we got back from Portland… it was hard going out of town without her. During spring break we went on our first trip as a family and rented a house in Long Beach. That will be our one and only family trip, and this brought memories of that. My mom and step-dad came, just as they did on our last trip.

I’m lucky to have some amazing people in my life-two families came down for dinner with us last night. My coworker, who has turned into an amazing and dear friend, brought her husband and sons and it was so kind of them. Getting away was nice but it was also helpful to see familiar faces on the one-month mark.

Today is Memorial Day. We always remember Dan Whitten, Justin’s best friend who was killed in Afghanistan in 2010, each year. Claire is…

View original post 207 more words

