The following is an excerpt from today’s Ted Blog.

What to know before starting a music career.

“The artistic path doesn’t come with a blueprint for success”

so says TED Fellow Somi, in a piece for In Her Shoes about what she wishes she knew before starting her career as a musician. Among her insights: musicians need to know a bit about business development and finance to better market themselves.

But the biggest? That being yourself is always the best bet.

“When I first started performing in New York City, I didn’t place my African roots at the center of my creative identity, because I didn’t think that people would understand it,” she says. But when she started experimenting with languages and rhythms, that’s when things took off for her. “It reminded me at an early age to always be exactly who you are.” (Read our interview with Somi on what inspires her music.)

For more information on Somi and the links to her interview please visit the Ted Blog (original source) here:
https://wordpress.com/read/post/feed/47108/680222807/

